Deborah Harkness – The Book of Life

The Book of Life
The Book of Life
Author: Deborah Harkness
Series: All Souls Trilogy #3
Publishing date: 15 July 2014
Publisher: Viking Adult
Status: completed

After traveling through time in Shadow of Night, the second book in Deborah Harkness’s enchanting series, historian and witch Diana Bishop and vampire scientist Matthew Clairmont return to the present to face new crises and old enemies. At Matthew’s ancestral home at Sept-Tours, they reunite with the cast of characters from A Discovery of Witches—with one significant exception. But the real threat to their future has yet to be revealed, and when it is, the search for Ashmole 782 and its missing pages takes on even more urgency. In the trilogy’s final volume, Harkness deepens her themes of power and passion, family and caring, past deeds and their present consequences. In ancestral homes and university laboratories, using ancient knowledge and modern science, from the hills of the Auvergne to the palaces of Venice and beyond, the couple at last learn what the witches discovered so many centuries ago.

Order from Amazon!
Order from Barnes & Noble!
Order from Kobo!
Order Bulgarian version from Bard Publishing House!

My impression:
This is the final book from this awesome trilogy and one that can’t be forgotten too easily. I finished it logn time ago, but have no idea why I didn’t wrote a review back then. Anyhow, here it is coming.

So in this book Diana & Matthew are back in the present time and they must hide Diana’s pregnancy and lot’s of magical things that had happened while they were in the past. The story became too complicated and all the characters developed some much more than before, that I wasn’t able to stop reading it. And I must say that I feel content.

Being honest, I didn’t expected that my favorite character Gallowglass had such feelings and his story is so complicated, but I surely fell for him harder. Yeah, for a fictional character…

I’m not sure what to write more, because I will write lots of spoilers, so I will leave myself here and will shut up. But you really need to read this book and the whole trilogy, of course. Be sure to check it!

General note: 10/10

Edition read: Книгата на живота (Bulgarian edition)
Publisher: Bard Publishing House (ИК “БАРД”)
Translation: Ventsislav Bojilov, 2014
ISBN: 978-954-6555-43-4

One thought on “Deborah Harkness – The Book of Life

  1. Pingback: Author on Focus: Deborah Harkness | Amairo's Bookshelf

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s